Tags

, , , ,

  • The topic of your website and its audience. This should include a description of the overall tone and purpose for your website.
  • For this project I chose to have a bit of fun and explore the popular  tutorials often seen on the new social sharing site Pinterest. I really wanted my website to be something that no one else in the class would think to do. The intended audience is anyone and everyone who enjoys crafting and might want to know if their time and money will be well spent completing these popular tutorials. I strive to have a conversational tone on kathowland.wordpress.com. I want the reader to feel like they were actually talking to me – so I continued to use this style while writing the Pinterest Project pages (sidenote: say that ten-times fast..woah).
  • The goal of your website. What purpose is the website intended to achieve? This section should provide reasons why the goals were chosen and why they are important.
  • It’s the worst thing in the world to find a cool DIY on the internet, only to later discover that it could never turn out like the picture. This has happened to me on so many different occasions, and it’s no fun. The best description for the purpose of this website, is crafty myth busters or scientific hypothesis testing. Imagine a scientist a cool experiment, then has is published in a scholarly journal where people comment attempt  to see if they can replicate the experiment with the same results. This website is the scholarly journal commentary and replication of Pinterest. I imagined images and instructions from blogger’s tutorials right along side with my personal images and comments that I think can help the reader achieve a better final product. I also wanted this website to be very real. If I didn’t like how something turned out – I would be very honest about it. This goal was important. If I wasn’t being honest when I didn’t like something or something doesn’t work, how could the reader trust me when I do like something and it does work?
  • How the content of the site (i.e. pages, text, images, videos, pdf documents, word documents, links) is applicable to the goal of your website.
  • The high quality images help the reader follow the tutorials step by step, allowing them to be sure that they are following correctly. I also wanted to link out to other bloggers who are much more skilled than me in the DIY blog department, so the creation of the Top DIY & Tutorial Sites page was made. I thought if my website readers enjoyed my reviews of projects they may want to turn to other sites to create there own reviews of projects. The content/images that I gathered from other blogs was extremely imperative to the goal of the website. Without it my website would be nothing. I am very grateful to the creators of the blogs that helped me. All of them were incredibly sweet and so willing to help.
  • Organizational scheme/site structure. How are the various content groups arranged within the website? Why did you organize it the way you did?
  • The first thing that you come to when you enter kathowland.wordpress.com is the About page. I’ve edited it a bit so it links to other parts of my website as well as a few of my favorite things plus information on how to contact me. I decided to have one page entitled The Pinterest Project with a basic outline of the project. When scrolling over The Pinterest Project title a drop down appears with the 3 different tutorial reviews I completed. I decided to organized the site like this because it looked very clunky when all of the projects were listed in the main organization menu. The current layout will also help if I continue to do these pinterest project reviews, because it will be very easy to keep adding them to that drop down menu.
  • Visual elements. Discuss your use of color/graphics and why you chose those particular colors and graphics.
  • The header photo is a photo I took at the Hub. It is a simple, classic and iconic image. I strive to make my website clean and simple. I think the calm purple background and classic header image on my header deliver this simplistic feel perfectly.
  • Information sources used. These do not have to be cited in APA or MLA style; they can be links.
  • http://www.comeonilene.com/2012/01/09/freezer-paper-stencil-tutorial-dinosaur-shirt/
  • http://www.ohsoprettythediaries.com/2012/02/signature-colors-valentines-day.html
  • http://momscraftyspace.blogspot.com/2011/08/melted-crayon-art-tutorial.html
  • http://pinterest.com/kittkat0626/crafty-beauty/
  • Elements you are especially proud of.
  • I really like the original concept of my website.  It was difficult to get responses from all the blogs I contacted, but I stuck with it and I think the result is wonderful. I’ve gotten some new blog follwers who aren’t in our class!
  • What changes you would make if you had more skill or time.
  • In the stencil page and in the melted crayon page, I wish it had been possible to manipulate the code so that the pictures could have appeared side by side.
  • Challenges you faced in the creation of your website
  • Right when I was almost done with my website, wordpress thought it would be a grand idea to delete all of my photos. So I had to go back in and re-upload them all as well as re-caption them. This was super frustrating and I almost quit. But I worked through and now the images are back. It was also challenging figuring out how to create the menus but luckily with the amazing help of Group 5 we figured it out together during our in-class work day.
  • Below please find proof that the blog owners allowed me to use there images:

Melted Crayon Art Permission

Hair Chalking Permission

Freezer Paper Stencil Permission

