Tags

, ,

My goal for this summer is to take advantage of every possible learning, performance, service and training opportunity. I’m balancing my invaluable (but unpaid) Clear Channel Media Internship with lots of hours at Coldstone Creamery. (I’ve been with the Newington Coldstone Creamery since the opening of the store!) I also participate in Miss America local preliminary programs to earn scholarship money to help pay for school.

Miss Winnipesaukee is:

  1. The oldest, continuously running Miss America local program in the country.
  2. A community television show – hosted by WLNH’s Pat Kelly.
  3. A great source of scholarship money with $9,000 awarded to talented students in 2012.
  4. An incredible outlet to perform a talent, enhance communication skills and develop meaningful community service projects. If you were wondering, my talent is singing, my favorite area of competition is Interview and I volunteer as a community health advocate with the President’s Challenge (learn more at Fitness.gov).
  5. Miss Winnipesaukee is also a beloved local tradition, celebrating it’s 88th Anniversary on July 8, 2012. The day begins with play time at FunSpot and ends with a show at the beautiful Gunstock Mountain Lodge.

I was incredibly honored to receive a $750 scholarship from the Miss Winnipesaukee Organization. A second award from the Miss Stratham Fair Scholarship Program helped pay the balance of my summer tuition. Thank you to all of the Miss New Hampshire and Miss Ohio state and local volunteers who work year round to provide scholarships.

The Miss America Organization is also partnered with Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals. The Miss America Organization has raised over $7 million dollars to help make real miracles happen everyday at 170 CMN Hospitals nationwide. Each MAO local finalist fundraises $100 in support of CMNH. In 2012, I participated in 5 Miss America local programs, generating a $500 donation to CMN Hospitals in NH and OH.

