Tags

,

I can’t believe I leave for Miss Ohio in three days!  I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve as Miss Oxford and build awareness of the President’s Challenge for a healthier America.  And I’m having so much fun at parades, fundraisers, special events, fitness fairs and welcoming home our troops at Pease Air Force Base.  The power of the Miss America crown is humbling.  Serving as a local titleholder opens doors and creates tremendous opportunities for impact in the community.

I began my journey to the Miss Ohio Stage in 2011, during my freshman year at Miami University, competing in the Miss Greater Butler County Scholarship Program (won by my friend Janey Covel, who will be competing for the Miss Delaware crown in a few weeks – Go Janey!).  I tried again in 2012 and was named First Runner-Up to Miss Greater Butler County Anjelica Francisco (who was named Overall Interview Winner and Second Runner-up at Miss Ohio 2012).  On my third try, I (finally!) won the Miss Oxford crown.  I have learned so much from my Local Director Jacky Johnson.  She is passionate about and dedicated to the Miss America Organization.  Thank you Jacky for helping me prepare for Mansfield while encouraging me to have fun and really enjoy this once-in-a-lifetime experience.  (I can’t wait to read your new book!)  Thank you to Miss Ohio Guru and Miami RedHawk Sophia Davis for all of your advice and brilliant suggestions.  And thank you to the incredible team of fairy godmothers and volunteers who have shared their guidance and love.

Thank you to Henri’s Cloud Nine, Sherri Hill, Chris Saltalamacchio, Dr. Dana Rosengard, Peggy and Caroline Carter, Danielle Jean-Cowan, Kandice Pelletier Swimwear, Regalia Magnificent Apparel, Johnathan Kayne and Benjamin Walk Footwear, Tony Bowls, and Real Health Lauren (if you are looking for a strategic, healthy nutrition and fitness plan, you NEED to check-in with Miss USA Finalist and Miss America State Swimsuit Winner – Lauren Carter, RN).  Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to vote for the Graham Automall People’s Choice Semi-Finalist http://missohio.org/miss-ohio-week-2013/2012-13-local-titleholders/, donate to the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals, loan me your lucky necklace, shoes, parade hat, or send me a supportive message.  I am very grateful for everything you have all done to help make my dream of singing on the Miss Ohio Stage come true.  Thanks to your help, I’m on “The Edge of Glory”! I can’t wait to find out who will represent Ohio at the Miss America Competition in Atlantic City this September.

