Congratulations to my inspiring friend Caroline Carter (@CarasCrusade), who performed a glorious rendition of the Star Spangled Banner on January 2, 2014 for the Boston Bruins at the historic Boston Garden. The audience of more than 11,000 fans roared their appreciation and millions more watched on NESN and NHL.com. I was very lucky to hear Caroline’s very first National Anthem performance at the Rochester Area for Passionately Pink on Ice a few years ago. I had goosebumps the first time I heard her sing…and I still get them everytime she nails that final verse, “O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.”

What most people don’t realize is that Caroline is an insulin dependent Type 1 Diabetic. She wears a Medtronic insulin pump to optimize her health, but each performance, each visit to a cold ice rink, a hot parade, a service event, or Duke of Edinburgh trip requires extra thought and planning. Caroline quietly, efficiently and gracefully manages her Diabetes. I am so proud of Caroline’s many talents, her commitment to community service, and her mission to Stop Diabetes.

