Tags

,

19623_10155527027580093_1895971036551113296_n

I was so thrilled to get a phone call from Miss New Hampshire Co-Executive Director Claudette Jolin today with the wonderful news that I was awarded the 2014 Tiffany Phillips Scholar-Athlete Award from the Miss America Organization.  This award was established in 1998, in loving memory of Tiffany Phillips, a dedicated scholar-athlete and the daughter of Steve and Dana Phillips. Dana is the Executive Director of the Miss Oregon Scholarship Program and a member of the Miss America Academy of Honor in recognition of her volunteer service.

This is a huge honor and I am very grateful. I submitted an application for this scholarship five times (every year I have been eligible) and it is so special to win after my senior season at Miami University. I have been very lucky to skate with incredible coaches and wonderful teams. Thank you to my teammates from the Sharper Edge, The Skating Club of Boston, the Lexettes, and Miami University for teaching me teamwork, passion, discipline, artistry, and athleticism. And thank you to the Miss New Hampshire’s Outstanding Teen Program, Miss Ohio Scholarship Program, Miss New Hampshire Scholarship Program, and Miss America Organization for inspiring my commitment to scholarship, service, style and success.

