Tags

LynneJoey

I have a very vivid memory of coming to my first Miss Rockingham County Competition ten years ago. Lindsey Graham was giving up her title. I loved Lindsey and I came right from skating practice (still wearing a skating dress) to cheer for her. I was so impressed with the show that night and the wonderful scholarship money Paula Moore granted.

So it was a long held dream come true to be crowned Miss Rockingham County last year.  I was incredibly lucky to spend a year with Lynne and Joey.  They are good people: selfless, generous, and honest. They work so hard for this program all year long. Not just the Miss Rockingham County Program…they both work hard to make the Miss New Hampshire Scholarship Program successful too. It was my honor to serve Rockingham County by their side.

I’ve learned a lot about what it means to be real this year. I worked hard to be authentic. To be me. And I am very grateful that Lynne and Joey encouraged me every step of the way. I loved our mock interviews, shopping, dinners, adventures…THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart.

Thank you to Robbie for making me feel loved and beautiful all year. You were the most perfect Ball date ever and you are the very best part of the Miss Rockingham County prize package. I’ve truly loved our year together.

Chris, you have been there with me from the beginning. From my very first title Miss Oxford to tonight – from Dover to Orlando to New York City to Atlantic City and on to Hoopeston…nobody makes me laugh more or work harder. You are one of the best people on the planet. Thank you for being my friend.

Mom, I love you. I know you’ll fall apart if I say anything more. Thank you for believing in me.

To all of the sponsors, local directors, volunteers, and judges donating your time, THANK YOU for sharing your gifts with us. This program has changed my life in so many positive ways. We appreciate your support and your love. Congratulations to Miss New Hampshire 2016 Caroline Carter.  Thank you Pattie, Paula, Brenda, Bill, Claudette, and the Miss New Hampshire Board of Directors. I am very grateful for the $21,000 in scholarships that helped fund my undergraduate degree at Miami University and my graduate degree at Southern New Hampshire University.

And now it’s time to pass on this beautiful crown.

With LOVE and HONOR,

Kat Howland, Miss Rockingham County 2016

